The Birth of Heidi Georgia

Like any expectant mother I was so scared to give birth, excited but so scared and not even for pushing Heidi out I just didn’t want my vagina poked and prodded by a random woman hahaha

So Heidi was due 17th August 2014 but being the stubborn cow that she is she arrived 8 days late!

Around 10pm on August 24th I started getting back ache, I didn’t think much of it so I chilled out and lay on my bed, around 1.30am I was speaking to Heidi’s dad on the phone when all of a sudden my stomach started to hurt, me being me passed it off as needing a poo, Around half an hour later the pain wasn’t shifting so I thought I’d get in the bath (something I love doing if I have any pain at all), the pains got stronger so I rang my mum. Pros of living round the corner from my family, my mum whizzed round and by 2:45am I was contracting every 4 minutes, we rang for an ambulance and it arrived half an hour later.

Whilst in the ambulance I tried gas and air and threw up my mums lasagne from the evening before, the paramedic hit a pot hole in the road and that sent my contractions sharper, when we arrived at the hospital the midwives weren’t fussed by me arriving and they put me on a monitor (they said 10 minutes but that turned into 45), in that time I started moaning at my mum for rubbing my back wrong, poor woman got all my abuse! Just before 5am I was checked to see how dialated I was and I was 5cms, so off we went to the birth centre, after some confusion from a midwife sending me to the wrong area we arrived at the birth centre, whilst they filled the bath I tried gas and air again and my god it was the best drugs I’ve ever had!

I ran to the bath (yep a heavily pregnant contracting Madison ran to get in the bath) I spent the next 5 hours in that bath on the gas and air refusing to speak to anyone, I grunted every time I was asked a question and put my thumbs up to say I was fine, my mum sat behind me the entire time (I made it clear to her she wasn’t to look at my lady area hahaha), around 10.20am I started pushing, it literally felt like my fu was being burned, the best way to describe it is a watermelon covered in sandpaper, it was the worst pain ever (even though I honestly cannot remember the pain fully now), so at 10.37am on August 25th 2014 Heidi graced us with her presence, she came flying out superman style! 

I’d honestly go through it all again it was the best experience and day of my life! 

Leave a Reply

